Wk 5 – Artist Conversation – Yeri Hwang

Artist: Yeri Hwang

Exhibition: Within Us

Media: Engineering, Drawing and Painting

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov East

Yeri Hwang is a student in the School of Art’s Studio Art program. Hwang’s work explores self-exploration and thrives off of the participation of the audience. Her pieces are supposed to be seen in a specific order for everything to be understood. Through the self discovery, Yeri makes certain to implement the good and bad sides of our human nature.

Each piece of the exhibit requires the audience to be interactive. There are buttons to push, swords to grab, and pages to write on. Each piece also involves some sort of engineering in order for the sword to light up or for figures to move. The space is generally empty except for the pieces, which are spread out throughout the room and requires the audience to stay curious through every twist and turn.

Yeri Hwang expresses her approach for the exhibit, which is hung near the enterance of the room. It reads, “We constantly battle our personal traumas that replay in our heads. We dream of a better world, write our own narrative within us, where we have conquered our traumas and our ideal version of past, present, and future come true. What could have gone better? What could’ve gone wrong? Will it be better or worse? This self-narrative is a promise to ourselves of personal growth as all narratives progress in one way or another, and it also becomes a platform of self-discovery, self-acceptance, and self-forgiveness.”

Personally, this exhibit resonated with me the most because it was all about self- analysis and I spend a lot of time figuring out what I need to make myself better for the people around me. At a very young age, I have been very intuitive with myself, but the battle is getting myself to fix what I know I need to fix. One of my favorite pieces was an alter where you were able to write down all the things you need to forgive. I wrote things like, “I need to forgive myself, I need to forgive my dad for helping himself more than he helps me, I need to forgive my boyfriend’s mom for being selfish.” I took a moment to be honest with myself since I have never really thought about forgiveness. It was an experience and I think that was the point of every piece.

 

Leave a Reply

